Limerick has a long hurling tradition, with names such as Mick Mackey, still used to inspire the sport today. Limerick is ranked fourth in overall champions of the Ireland Senior Hurling finals, having won a total of seven games, in 1897, 1918, 1921, 1934, 1936, 1940, 1973.

This video from 2012 captures some of the historic moments in Limerick hurling through photographs.