St John’s Cathedral The Cathedral of St John the Baptist is the present day Cathedral in Limerick City was built in 1856. The chapel which this replace was founded in 1753. The link between St John the Baptist and the area around the Cathedral is long standing. According to Begley, the Knights Templars had a house in the area in the 12th century that was dedicated to John the Baptist. It boasts the tallest church spire in Ireland. Desgined by Philip Charles Hardwick, who was also working on Adare Manor at the time. Seventeen years after it’s opening work began on the spire, this was designed by Hennessy’s of Limerick.
The bell in the steeple was carried to Limerick from Dublin, by barge using the canal systems, more information on the Limerick side of the canal can be found on the Canal Walk page.